The BVI is a British Overseas Territory, with the Queen as the Head of State and Her Majesty’s representative, the Governor, responsible for external affairs, defence and internal security, the Civil Service and administration of the courts. Since 1967, the BVI has held responsibility for its own internal affairs.

The Constitution provides for the people of the BVI to be represented by a ministerial system of government, led by an elected Premier, a Cabinet of Ministers and the House of Assembly. The House of Assembly comprises 13 elected representatives, the Attorney General, and the Speaker.

The judicial system, based on English law, is under the direction of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court, which includes the High Court of Justice and the Court of Appeal. The ultimate appellate court is the Privy Council in London.

For more information, visit the Government of the Virgin Islands (U.K) and HM Governor's Office in the British Virgin Islands.